Steve Sisolak
Governor

Margaret Colucci, DC

President
Nicole Canada, DC
Vice President

James T. Overland Sr., DC

Secretary-Treasurer



#### CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIAN'S BOARD OF NEVADA

4600 Kietzke Lane, M-245 | Reno, Nevada 89502-5000 Phone: (775) 688-1921 | Fax: (775) 688-1920

Website: <a href="http://chirobd.nv.gov">http://chirobd.nv.gov</a> Email: <a href="mailto:chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov">chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov</a>

Morgan Rovetti, DC

Member

Xavier Martinez, DC

Member

Tracy DiFillippo, Esq.

Consumer Member

John Bertoldo, Esq.

Consumer Member

Julie Strandberg
Executive Director

**Brett Canady** *Licensing Specialist* 

### **Message from the President**

During these unprecedented times, I want to reassure licensees and the general public that the Chiropractic Physicians Board of Nevada remains focused on our mission to protect the public. As issues of concern may surface and questions are received, the CPBN is ready to provide guidance and direction for compliance. As chiropractic physicians, we are grateful to be recognized as essential healthcare providers. If your practice is open please continue to take all the precautionary measures to ensure the safety of your patients, yourself, and your staff. Please contact the Board office if you have any questions or concerns.

~ Dr. Margaret R. Colucci, President

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2020 Board Meetings

- \* July 9th
- \* October 15th

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

# Congratulations to Jason O. Jaeger, DC



Dr. Jaeger was elected by state delegates as the District IV Director of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Dr. Jaeger is the 3rd past Nevada Board President to be elected to the National Board. Congratulations Dr. Jaeger, we are proud that you will be representing District IV of the NBCE.

## Cannabidiol or CBD

The Board's office has received questions regarding whether chiropractic physicians may recommend or sell CBD products. Despite that CBD products are readily available, there is no provision of Nevada law that authorizes a chiropractic physician to recommend or sell CBD products. Therefore, the Board has been informing chiropractic physicians since August 2019 to discontinue recommending or selling CBD products.



issue 66

Message from the President

**Board Meeting Dates** 

NBCE Elections – Dr. Jason Jaeger

**CBD** 

DC Renewal

**Adopted Regulations** 

**Examination Dates** 

## DC LICENSE RENEWAL

A reminder postcard will be mailed to all active and inactive DC's at the beginning of October 2020 to complete your DC license renewal by December 31, 2020 for the 2021/2022 biennium.

Your complete renewal must include the following:

#### **CONTINUING EDUCATION**

All licensees are REQUIRED to <u>complete</u> 36 hours of continuing education during the 24 months immediately preceding the renewal date of the license, unless this is your first renewal period. NRS 634.130 (9) passed to allow the random audit to select 20% of the active licensees who will be notified on their renewal postcard to <u>submit</u> their CE certificates to the Board.

If your renewal postcard does not indicate that you were selected to submit your certificates to the Board, please do not provide them. You may, however, upload them by logging in to your portal via the Board's website. The Board staff will no longer keep or enter CE certificates unless you were selected in the audit. If you have previously submitted your certificates we have retained them in your file and will record them if you were selected to submit your CE certificates.

**COVID-19 Note:** An extension to submit CE as part of the renewal process may occur depending upon when Governor Sisolak terminates some or all of his emergency directives. *Stay tuned*.

#### **RENEWAL QUESTIONS**

The renewal questions are online when you log in through the Boards website with your License # and SSN. If you do not have access to a computer you may download the 2021/2022 DC License Renewal on the Boards website.

#### RENEWAL FEE

NRS 634.130(11) passed to allow for licensing fees to be prorated to those licensees that were issued licenses during the same year in which the license, must be renewed. Regulations were passed as follows:

- \* For any person who applies to become a chiropractic physician from January 1 to May 31 of any odd-numbered year, their renewal fee will be reduced by 50%.
- \* For any person who applies to become a chiropractic physician from June 1 through December 31 of any odd-numbered year, the renewal fee will be waived.

## Regulation Adoption ~ NAC 634

Language in red was omitted; Language in blue was added.

Section 1. NAC chapter 634 shall be amended to add the following new language:

- 634.3854. 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 7, the Board may approve or endorse an educational class or a seminar if it [is designed to advance the professional skills and knowledge of the chiropractic physicians licensed, or chiropractors' assistants certified, in this State for the purpose of ensuring an optimum quality of chiropractic health care.] addresses:
- (a) The practice of chiropractic as defined in NRS 634.013;
- (b) The performing of a chiropractic adjustment as defined in NRS 634.014;
- (c) Means to avoid the commission of gross malpractice as defined in NRS 634.015 or malpractice as defined in NRS 634.017;
- (d) The performing of manipulation as defined in NRS 634.0173:
- (e) The diagnosis and treatment of subluxation complex as defined in NRS 634.0175;
- (f) Means to avoid committing any act of unprofessional conduct as defined in NRS 634.018 and as interpreted in NAC 634.430;
  - (g) Compliance with NRS and NAC chapters 634;
  - (h) Compliance with NRS chapter 629;
- (i) Lifesaving skills as required by NRS 634.130(4).
- 2. The Board may approve or endorse the attendance by licensees or holders of certificates, in person or on-line, of an educational seminar or seminars if:
- (a) The syllabus and curriculum of the instructors of the seminar or seminars and the required fee are submitted to the Board;
- (b) The seminar or seminars provide instructionin conformity with subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable:
- (c) The seminar or seminars [concern the clinical aspects of a practice or another topic that the Board determines to be in the best interest of the public] conforms to subsection 1.
- (d) The sponsor of the seminar or seminars ensures that each licensee and holder of a certificate who requests credit for continuing education to satisfy the requirement set forth in subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable, attends at least 50 minutes of each hour of instruction;
  - (e) The seminar or seminars are sponsored by:

- (1) A chiropractic college which has been accredited by:
  - (I) The Council on Chiropractic Education; or
- (II) Another educational entity that has been approved by the Board;
- (2) A state chiropractic board or association;
- (3) The American Chiropractic Association, the International Chiropractors Association or the successor of either;
- (4) A major hospital, as defined in NRS 439B.115;
- (5) An accredited university or college; or
- (6) A regulatory body as defined in NRS 622.060; and
- (f) An original or a copy of a certificate of attendance at the seminar or seminars is provided directly to the Board by the sponsor, or licensee or holder of a certificate, as applicable, on or before January 1 of each odd-numbered year before the issuance of a renewal certificate.
- 3. As an alternative to the method of approval and endorsement provided in subsection 2, the Board will approve and endorse the attendance by licensees or holders of certificates, as applicable, in person or online, of an educational seminar or seminars if the seminar or seminars have been granted recognition status by the Providers of Approved Continuing Education of the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards and the subject matter conforms to subsection 1.
- 4. The sponsor of the seminar or seminars shall ensure that each licensee or holder of a certificate, as applicable, attending that seminar is in attendance in a timely manner at the start of each lecture. If the sponsor fails to maintain the proper monitoring procedure, such failure may constitute grounds for the Board to withdraw its approval of a current or future seminar or seminars hosted or arranged by that sponsor.
- 5. The sponsor of a seminar shall allow any representative of the Board to attend all or part of the seminar in order to monitor the content of the course or lecture and the procedures for taking attendance. A representative who is taking the seminar to satisfy the requirements of subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable, shall pay the full registration fee.
- 6. The sponsor of a seminar which has received the approval of the Board shall report to the Board all changes in the seminar as soon as possible.
- 7. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the Board will not award credit for continuing education to a licensee or holder of a

certificate, as applicable, for an educational class or seminar that is of a nonclinical nature, including, without limitation, an educational class or seminar regarding the building or management of a chiropractic practice *or whose subject matter does not conform with subsection* 1. For the purposes of this subsection, an educational class or seminar regarding proper billing procedures shall not be deemed to be an educational class or seminar regarding the building or management of a chiropractic practice.

- 8. The Board will not award credit for continuing education to an instructor of an educational class or seminar unless the instructor obtained from the Board approval for such credit before teaching the educational class or seminar.
- 9. Continuing education hours earned through the completion of a specific educational class or seminar may be counted only once during a calendar year toward the hours of continuing education required by subsection 3 or 4 of NRS 634.130, as applicable, even if the licensee or holder of a certificate completes that class or seminar more than once during that calendar year.
- 10. The Board will award credit for continuing education to a licensee or a holder of a certificate for all educational classes or seminars which are approved and endorsed by the Board pursuant to this section and are attended by the licensee or holder of a certificate.
- Sec. 2. NAC chapter 634 shall be amended to add the following new language:
- 1. A chiropractic physician may not perform dry needling unless he or she is certified pursuant to this section. To obtain certification, a chiropractic physician shall:
  - (a) Apply on a form provided by the Board;
- (b) Provide with the form copies of certificates evidencing successful completion of at least 50 hours of didactic education and training in dry needling.
- 2 The Board shall approve courses for the didactic education and training in dry needling where the courses are offered or certified by:
- (a) The Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards;
  - (b) The American Chiropractic Association;
  - (c) The International Chiropractors Association;
- (d) The Providers of Approved Continuing Education (PACE);

- (e) The American Medical Association;
- (f) The American Osteopathic Association;
- (g) The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)
- (h) The Nevada State Board of Oriental Medicine; or (i) Chiropractic Schools
- 3. A chiropractic physician may maintain his or her certification to perform dry needling as long as he or she successfully completes at least four hours of continuing education related to dry needling for each renewal period.
- 4. Only a chiropractic physician may perform dry needling. A chiropractor's assistant may not perform dry needling.
- Sec. 3. NAC chapter 634 shall be amended to add the following new language:
- 1. The renewal fee that would otherwise be due for a chiropractic physician shall be prorated:
- (a) By 50% for any person who applies to become a chiropractic physician from January 1 to May 31 of any odd-numbered year; and
- (b) By 100% for any person who applies to become a chiropractic physician from June 1 through December 31 of any odd-numbered year.
- 2. The renewal fee that would otherwise be due for a chiropractor's assistant shall be prorated:
- (a) By 50% for any person who applies to become a chiropractor's assistant from January 1 to May 31 of any even-numbered year; and
- (b) By 100% for any person who applies to become a chiropractor's assistant from June 1 through December 31 of any even-numbered year.

## Examinations

The jurisprudence examination for DC applicants are administered online via the online platform Myicourse, and in-person at the Board's office complex in Reno, Nevada on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month.

The 2020 dates are as follows, however may vary due to COVID-19.

May 13th/27th June 10th/24th July 8th/22nd August 12th/26th September 9th/23rd October 7th/21st November 11th/25th December 9th/23rd The next CA exam will be held on June 14, 2020 via the online platform, Myicourse. Applicants must have completed six months of full-time or one year of part-time on-the-job training.

Those CA's that are eligible to take the exam(s) will receive a reminder letter by mid-May.